ELKO — In today’s society heroes come in a variety of guises. They’re not just police officers, firefighters or emergency responders, although they are certainly heroes, too. Sometimes it’s the everyday person, and the local Red Cross will honor some of these people at their annual Celebration of Service awards banquet.

This year’s banquet starts at 5:30 p.m. Saturday in Red Lion Inn & Casino’s main ballroom.

Criteria for nomination includes having worked in service Oct. 1, 2006, to Sept. 30, 2007, and the person must be a resident of Elko, Eureka or White Pine counties. The nominee must also fall under one of six award categories. However, eight total awards will be given out. The awards come in the form of unique pieces of art from members of the Elko County Art Club.

The six juried categories include Service to Animals, Service to Youth, Service in the Line of Duty, Business Community Service Program, Community Volunteer of the Year and Service to Senior Citizens.

Andrea Kevicki Harris was nominated for the volunteer work she has done for Disabled American Veterans. She has dedicated more than 800 hours coordinating transportation for veterans to their doctor appointments in Salt Lake City.

David Blackman is nominated for his compassionate care of many individuals in need of prosthetics or orthopedic devices. Jim and Vicky Killian said in a statement, “He provides custom orthopedic devices, braces, body jackets and artificial limbs. He provides these services to the community for the insured, uninsured and for those who simply cannot pay. At times the only payment received is the smile of gratitude that comes from the heart.”

Delyne Kirkham is nominated for her dedication to the Red Cross. She is a CPR and first aid instructor, as well as a disaster volunteer. Her most recent action was going to Wendover to assist during the apartment fires.

Steve Rasmussen is a United Parcel Service driver who recently discovered a man with a gunshot wound while delivering a package on his route. He stayed with the man until emergency personnel could respond. After help arrived, he continued his work day.

Jennifer Schrider and Les Brown are nominated for their dedication to service men and women through the POW/MIA Association. They spearheaded the parade honoring Marine Lance Cpl. Raul Bravo Jr. They also recently helped coordinate the “Welcome Home” celebration for the troops returned from Iraq.

Linda Bingaman is nominated for her work with the City of Carlin. She has volunteered with the Carlin Volunteer Fire Department since 1984. She has served on the board for the Nevada League of Cities and the Nevada State Firefighters’ Association. She was also instrumental in relocating the University of Nevada, Reno, Fires Science Academy to Carlin. She has also served on the city council and as the mayor of Carlin.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Lynn Bell was nominated by Mae Boyles for being an “exceptional honest person,” especially through her business, Bell Fire Extinguishers.

Several others were nominated in the other five categories.

“It’s nice to recognize the unsung heroes in the community,” said Stephanie Berger, administrative assistant for the local Red Cross. “Those who every day go above and beyond, but aren’t always recognized.”

See Monday’s Elko Daily Free Press for a story on the winners at this year’s awards banquet.


Load comments