Nevada Mining Association logo

RENO — The Nevada Mining Association announced the recipients of its 2018 Safety Awards to celebrate the men, women, and mine operators that make an extraordinary effort to ensure all mine workers return home safely after every shift.

“Achieving excellence in safety requires constant improvement and vigilance,” said Dana Bennett, NvMA president. “These awards are an annual reminder of how far we have come to ensure every miner returns home each day. Thank you for making mining one of the safest industries in the State of Nevada.”

The NvMA Safety Awards, announced July 23, are based on performance in the previous calendar year. This year, 53 individual awards and 29 mine operators will be recognized during an awards luncheon at the NvMA’s 40th annual convention in Lake Tahoe on Sept. 8.

Operator awards are given to the top three mines in designated categories based on their safety rate, which is calculated by a formula that factors the number of employees on site, number of man hours for that year, penalties for lost-time accidents, number of reportable incidents, and lost-time days. Individual awards are selected based on nominations only, and those nominations are judged on both the personal safety record of the individual and that person’s involvement in advocating safety in the workplace.

Individual Safety Awards

Dedication to Safety:

Karen Williams – Newmont Mining Corp., Carlin

General Manager:

David Thornton – Newmont Mining Corp., Carlin Underground

Safety Manager:

Rich Wagner – Coeur Mining, Rochester

Safety Professional:

Tammie Neff – Barrick Nevada, Cortez

Allison Jensen – Newmont Mining Corp.

Mine Manager:

Graden Colby, Newmont Mining Corp., Leeville


Gus Friesen – Newmont Mining Corp., Carlin Portal Mines

John Gilbert – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Jon Kamensky – Barrick Nevada, Cortez Operations

Robert “Bob” Reeves – EP Minerals, US Silica Company, Colado

Safety Professional:

Kelly Hess – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Nikkayla Simon – Barrick Nevada, Goldstrike Operations

Suzanne DiSanza – KGHM, Robinson

Victor Ortiz – Barrick Nevada, Cortez District

General Supervisor:

Dave Street – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Dwane Schomer – Newmont Mining Corp., Leeville

James Polanco – Coeur Mining, Rochester

Kevin Gallio – Barrick, Turquoise Ridge

Lucas Still – Barrick Nevada, Cortez District

Stuart Wilson – Newmont Mining Corp., Emigrant


Carl Shrider – Kinross Gold Corp., Round Mountain

Dan Rogers – Kinross Gold Corp., Round Mountain

David Florence – Newmont Mining Corp., South Area

Debbie Odam – Barrick Nevada, Turquoise Ridge

Don Gray – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Ernest Ordaz – Newmont Mining Corp., Phoenix

Joe Sabo – Lhoist North America, Apex Plant

John Willms – Coeur Mining, Rochester

Leo Sanchez – Barrick Nevada, Turquoise Ridge

Lonnie Armknecht – KG Mining, Bald Mountain


Adam Gonzalez – Newmont Mining Corp., Carlin Surface

Anthony Clarke – Barrick Nevada, Goldstrike Operations

Jason Cooley – KG Mining, Bald Mountain

Nicole Silberschlag – Kinross Gold Corp., Round Mountain

Emergency Response:

Derek Dawson – Small Mine Development, Jerritt Canyon Gold, Phoenix

Heather Hoopes – Newmont Mining Corp., Phoenix

Junior Lacy – Alio Gold, Florida Canyon

Kaycee Williams – Barrick Nevada, Cortez District

Misty Fetterly – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Safety Champion:

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Alan Motley – Newmont Mining Corp., South Area

Alison McKenzie – Barrick Nevada, Goldstrike Operations

Casey Stanfill – Barrick Nevada, Cortez District

Eric Dougherty – Elko Mining Group, Borealis, Ruby Hill, Pinson

Eric Frazier – Kinross Gold Corp., Round Mountain

Herman Mercado – Coeur Mining, Rochester

Jeff Martin – EP Minerals, US Silica Company, Lovelock Plant

Juanita McCord – KGHM, Robinson

Levi Crandall – KG Mining, Bald Mountain

Matt Oros – Barrick Nevada, Gold Strike Operations

Misty Ruttenbur – Coeur Mining, Rochester

Peter Johnsen – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Steve Kontny – Newmont Mining Corp., Twin Creeks

Tom Zitzmann – Small Mine Development, Chukar

Mine Operators Safety Awards

Surface Operations:

Large – 300+ employees

First: Bald Mountain Mine, KG Mining Inc.

Second: Goldstrike Mine, Barrick Goldstrike Mines Inc.

Third: Twin Creeks Mine, Newmont USA Ltd.

Medium – 100-299 employees

First: Genesis, Newmont USA Limited

Second: Roaster, Barrick Goldstrike Mines Inc.

Third: Rochester Mine, Coeur Rochester Inc.

Small – 20-99 employees

Lone Tree Mine, Newmont USA Ltd.

Pan Mine, Fiore Gold Ltd.

Underground Operations:

Large – 300+ employees

First: Leeville, Newmont USA Ltd.

First: Barrick Cortez Underground, Barrick Cortez Inc.

First: Meikle Mine, Barrick Goldstrike Mines Inc.

Medium – 100-299 employees

First: Exodus, Newmont USA Limited

First: SSX Mine, Small Mine Development LLC

First: Midas Mine, Klondex Midas Operations Inc.

Small – 20-99 employees

First: Lee Smith Mine, Small Mine Development LLC

First: Chukar, Newmont USA Ltd.

Second: Fire Creek, Klondex Gold and Silver Mining Co.

Non-Metal Mining Category

First: Clark Operations, EP Minerals LLC

First: ADAMS CLAIM, ACG Materials

First: Colado Mine, EP Minerals LLC

First: Battle Mountain Grinding Plant, M-I Swaco- A

First: Schlumberger Co.

First: Fernley Operations, EP Minerals LLC

First: Greystone Mine, M-I Swaco- A Schlumberger Company

Aggregate Category

First: Sloan Quarry #1001, Aggregate Industries SWR Inc.

First: DAYTON MATERIALS, 3D Concrete

Contractors Category

First: Nevada Operations, American Drilling Corp.

First: Nevada Operations, Ames Construction Inc.

First: GRP, MRG, Cemex and Bullfrog, Ledcor CMI Inc.

Get Breaking News delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments