Subscribe for 33¢ / day

ELKO — Republicans and Democrats cast their votes during the Nevada primary elections June 12, determining the slate of candidates for the general election Nov. 6.

Federal offices

On the federal level, Republican incumbent Dean Heller will face off with Democrat Jacky Rosen for the title of U.S. Senator.

Statewide, Heller led with 70 percent of the Republican vote while Rosen garnered 77 percent of the Democratic vote, according to unofficial results posted by the Nevada Secretary of State with all precincts reporting. Seventy-three percent of Elko County voters cast their support for Heller; 55 percent supported Rosen.

“I’m grateful for all the support Nevadans have shown our Nevada campaign,” Heller said in a statement. “The choice this November could not be starker. I have fought to lower taxes, cut regulations and to get our economy back on track.”

Heller has served as senator since 2011. Rosen represents U.S. House District 3, where she was first elected in 2016.

“Representing Nevadans in Congress has been the honor of my life, and I look forward to continuing this service as Nevada’s next Senator,” Rosen said. “I’m proud of my record putting partisan games aside to work across the aisle and find real solutions, and I’m running for Senate because Nevada needs a problem-solver who will have the backbone to put hardworking families ahead of the powerful special interests in Washington.

Republican incumbent Mark Amodei and Democrat Clint Koble will contend for the office of U.S. House District 2.

About 71 percent of the state’s Republican voters supported Amodei; 26 percent of Democrats statewide voted for Koble, according to SOS unofficial results. Elko County Democrats supported Rick Shepherd with 22 percent of the vote, and 69 percent of Elko County Republicans voted for Amodei. 

State Assembly District 33

Voters re-elected John Ellison to State Assembly District 33 in the Republican primary election June 12.

Incumbent Ellison faced challenger Elko Mayor Chris Johnson for the seat Ellison has held since winning the 2010 election. Johnson has served as mayor for two terms but reaches his term limit this year.

The Nevada Secretary of State reports that 80 percent of Elko County voters chose Ellison while 20 percent voted for Johnson, according to the SOS.


Voters narrowed down the gubernatorial candidates to Adam Paul Laxalt, Republican, and Steve Sisolak, Democrat.

“Our work is only just beginning,” Laxalt said in a statement. “Together we can build on the foundations of the Nevadans who came before us and choose the path of prosperity and unlimited possibilities. Not just for a few, but for every Nevadan.”

Gov. Brian Sandoval terms out this year, and the primary election offered eight contenders on the Republican ballot and six on the Democratic ballot.

Unofficial SOS statewide stats show that 71 percent of Republican voters favored Laxalt while 50 percent of voting Democrats supported Sisolak.

Elko County Republicans mostly supported Laxalt, with 80 percent of the vote, but Elko County Democrats preferred Christina “Chris G” Giunchigliani, with 45 percent of the vote, according to the SOS. In Elko County, 25 percent of Democrats voted for Sisolak.

The general election ballot also will include three additional candidates outside of the two primary parties: Russell Best, Independent American; Ryan Bundy, no political party; and Jared Lord, Libertarian.

Lieutenant governor

Democrat Kate Marshall will run against Republican Michael Roberson in the general election for the office of lieutenant governor.

In Elko County, Marshall brought in 67 percent of the Democratic vote while Roberson garnered 43 percent of the Republican vote, according to the SOS.

Statewide, Marshall scored 67 percent of Democrats’ votes, and Roberson earned 46 percent of Republican votes.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Independent Americans Janine Hansen and Bill Hoge, and Ed Uehling with no political party, also will appear on the general election ballot.

The post is open as Mark Hutchison, lieutenant governor since 2015, did not run for re-election.

Other state races

Nevada Secretary of State incumbent Barbara K. Cegavske earned the right to keep her position, with 63 percent of voters statewide showing support for her over challenger Ernest Aldridge, a fellow Republican, according to SOS preliminary results. No Democrats ran for Secretary of State, so Cegavske will be the uncontested winner in the general election.

Bob Beers is the winner of the Republican primary for the office of treasurer, with 68 percent of the state vote, according to unofficial results. The position is uncontested for the general election.

Wes Duncan, Republican, and Aaron Ford, Democrat, will compete to become the next attorney general, a post vacated by Laxalt in his run for governor. Statewide, voters cast 60 percent in support of Duncan and 68 percent for Ford in their respective parties.

“From West Wendover to Reno to Las Vegas, I look forward to continuing to share my vision for putting Nevada families first by taking on scammers who rip off our seniors, polluters who poison our water, and criminals and drug dealers who prey on our communities,” Ford said in a statement. “I am proud of the campaign that we are running on behalf of all Nevadans, and we look forward to victory on November 6th.”

Also running for attorney general in the general election is Joel F. Hansen, Independent American.

Elko County has 25,747 registered voters including 14,197 registered Republicans and 4,441 registered Democrats, according to the SOS; more than 5,000 registered voters claim to be nonpartisan. For the primary election, 16 percent of registered voters voted.

Nevada has 1.68 million registered voters, the SOS reports. Clark County has the largest voting population, at 1.19 million, and Esmeralda County has the smallest with 609.

Editor's note: This article was updated June 13 with unofficial results from the Nevada Secretary of State with all precincts reporting.


Mining Quarterly - Mining, state and county reporter

Load comments