Chief Justice Mark Gibbons announces he will not seek re-election
top story

Chief Justice Mark Gibbons announces he will not seek re-election

  • 0
Nevada Supreme Court

CARSON CITY — Chief Justice Mark Gibbons announced Monday he will not seek re-election in 2020 for a fourth term on the Nevada Supreme Court.

Gibbons was first elected to the Nevada Supreme Court in 2002. He is the longest serving Justice among the seven members of the court.

Prior to his election to the Supreme Court, Gibbons served as a district judge in Clark County for six years. In 2001, he was elected chief judge of the Eighth Judicial District Court by his fellow judges.

“Since judicial election filing opens in January 2020, I wanted to make this announcement early so people interested in the position could decide to file for the office,” said Gibbons.

The term of office for a Supreme Court Justice is six years.

Gibbons is a graduate of the University of California, Irvine and Loyola University School of Law. He is the brother of Nevada Court of Appeals Chief Judge Michael P. Gibbons.


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

While Dakota Eldridge may be the only Elko County contestant at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, he's far from the only Nevada cowboy who will rock and roll under the bright lights of Las Vegas. He will be joined by Fallon team roper Jade Corkill — a three-time world champion and 10-time WNFR qualifier — and a pair of Winnemucca talents as saddle bronc rider Mitch Pollock and bareback rider Trenten Montero make their WNFR debuts.

ELKO – A Carlin man was arrested this week following an investigation into claims that he encouraged a sexual relationship between a teenage g…

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News