Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Wells High graduation and scholarships
top story

Wells High graduation and scholarships

  • 0

WELLS — On June 4, an hour before the 2021 graduation began, thunderstorm weather with wind hastily changed location plans for the ceremony from outside at the football field to inside the high school gym where the final salute to the seniors was made.

There was no guest speaker but senior class president Brody Middleton and vice president gave their speeches to the 22 graduates who mostly wore orange or white caps and gowns while a few wore black. Teresa Dastrup was on stage representing the Elko County School District Board of Trustees.

Earlier in the week the seniors walked with their cap and gowns to the Wells Elementary school, where many of them had begun their education path.

On June 3 the Junior/ Senior High awards were given mostly to seniors but also to the other grade levels. Some senior awards were held until the graduation ceremony.

On May 25 a steak fry was held at the Elton Pavilion in the Wells city park for a community celebration. The Seniors were showered with donations and gifts.

The Wells High School “WHS” rock by the school’s front door was painted white this year, a color chosen by the class that will remain until next year’s seniors graduate. The painting of the rock is a very old WHS tradition and changes every year.

Several seniors received scholarships, from local businesses and organizations. The largest, a Utah State University full tuition, was awarded to Mackenzie Wachtel. She also received scholarships from the LaMont Stuart Memorial, Shelly Kay Petersen Memorial, Wells FFA, and USU Non-Resident Deans.

Support Local Journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.

Grace Calton was awarded a $20,000 Presidential Scholarship. Calton also received a College of Idaho scholarship, the Whittenberger Scholarship, the Katheryn Albertson Day Award, Alumni Scholarship, LaMont Scholarship, Kidner Scholarship, Chimney Rock Golf Scholarship, and the High Desert Cruisers Award.

Liliana Coian received scholarships from Nevada Gold Mines, Nevada State Elks MVS, and Total Eyecare.

Zion McKay received the William Denevi Memorial Award, Next Dollar Grant, and scholarships from Elko County Farm Bureau, Alumni, and the Bobby Goodwin Memorial.

Xavier Mercado was awarded an Alumni and Chimney Rock Golf scholarship.

Megan Morgan received the Corbin Davis Madison Scholarship.

McKenli Myers was awarded scholarships from the Nevada Ag Foundation, Elko County Farm Bureau, Next Dollar, Fred Garrett Memorial, Hummin’bolt Quilt Guild, Ronald McDonald House, USU Non-Resident and Non-Resident Merit.

Lisette Rivera Casas received the Robert Z. Hawkins Memorial Scholarship.

Kolby Weeks received a WHS Meat Science Scholarship and the Shelly Kay Petersen Memorial.

Tyler Weeks was awarded a WHS Meat Science Scholarship.


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

She will have the opportunity to swing her clubs on three of the courses at Pinehurst Resort — consisting of nine 18-hole courses — which has hosted three U.S. Championships, one U.S. Women's Open, three U.S. Amateur Championships, a PGA Championship and the Ryder Cup.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News