Subscribe for 33¢ / day

ELKO – The eighth annual Jake Eary Memorial Rodeo produced hundreds of contestants, cumulating with six competitors toting home trophy saddles.

Given in three age groups – youth, junior and open – a male and a female earned in the honor in each category.

In the youth division, Charlotte Silva won the girl’s saddle and Cray Tervort claimed the boy’s saddle.

For the juniors, the Silva family made another haul as Syerra Silva finished as the high-point girl and Cody Rowley was honored with the boy’s saddle.

Of the older contestants, Jessica Lancaster was named the high-point woman and Daxton Jim snagged the high-point men’s saddle.

Reserve High-Point: Youth girl Monell Malotte, youth boy Mason Steward, junior girl Madi Borkman, junior boy Riley Roderick, women Payton Feyder and Jessica Kelly (tie) and men Austin Carrasco and Trevor Carrasco (tie).

Event winners

Stick horse barrel racing: Champion – Monell Malotte, second – Cray Tervort, third – Huntley Byrd and fourth – Rori Fenner.

Dummy roping: Champion – Charlotte Silva, second – Pete Mori, third – Cray Tervort, fourth – Monell Malotte.

Sheep riding: Champion – Gabi Taravella, second – Trey Jones, third – Charlotte Silva, fourth – Ellen Helming.

Kids branding: Champion – Riley Roderick, second – Cody Rowley, third – Walker Jones, fourth – Anna Van Norman.

Kids branding prizes: 10 and younger – Walker Jones (first), Stoan Morrison (second), Eli Lancaster (third) and Chase Stouard (fourth). 11-14 – Riley Roderick (first), Cody Rowley (second), Anna Van Norman (third) and Logan Cummins (fourth).

Junior team roping: Champion – Cody Rowley, second and third (tie) – Madi Borkman and Riley Roderick, fourth – Brock Feyder.

Junior barrel racing: Champion – Syerra Silva, second – Italy Jo Holman, third – Anna Van Norman, fourth – Amelia Lancaster.

Steer riding: Champion – Carlos Gonzalez (only qualified ride), second – Timothy Toops, third – Blaze Jones, fourth – Spencer Elsner.

Mixed branding: Champion – Lazy JN (also Shootout winner), second – The Kiellers, third – Grass Valley Ranch, fourth – Goemmer Ranch.

Open branding: Champion – Jim Ranch (also Shootout winner), second – Deadman Ranch, third – The Eldridges, fourth – Mori Ranch.

Open steer stopping: Champion – Dario Ceresola, second – Payton Feyder, third – Jalyn Eldridge, fourth – Daniel Eary.

Ladies steer stopping: Champion – Bailey Corkill, second – Payton Feyder, third – Jessica Lancaster, fourth – Madi Borkman.

Barrel racing: Champion – Jessica Lancaster, second – Jayce Blake, third – Riata Goemmer, fourth – Syerra Silva.

Muley roping: Champions – Asher Freeman and Daxton Jim, second – Dirk Jim and Daxton Jim, third and fourth (tie) – Trevor and Austin Carrasco and Dalton Jim and Ross O’Sullivan, fifth – Josh Mansanares and Preston Pirtle, sixth – Tony Steele and Chad Steele.

Stock saddle bronc riding: Champion – Adam Millerman, second – Gunnar Clegg, third – Travon Cowdell, fourth – Bodey Anderson.

Saddle bronc: Champion – Scott Carlson, second – Bodey Anderson.

Bull riding: Champions (tie) – Sterling Ward and Gabe Allen.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports editor and reporter

Load comments